Winners of the Roland Berger Human Dignity Award 2014/15 announced

The Roland Berger Human Dignity Award 2014/15 goes to the Maltese lawyer and director of the Jesuit Refugee Service in Malta, Dr. Katrine Camilleri, the Eritrean-Italian human rights activist, Dr. Alganesc Fessaha, and the Congolese school organization, Petite Flamme. The award ceremony is taking place on April 29, 2015 in Berlin. Germany's Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier is giving the laudatory speech.

The Roland Berger Human Dignity Award 2012/13 goes to the Indian Women’s-NGO Jagori, to the Pakistani lawyer and human rights activist Dr. Asma Jahangir and to the Afghan Women’s Network

President of the German Bundestag, Dr. Norbert Lammert, today presents the Roland Berger Human Dignity Award 2012/13 to three human rights activists: Indian women's rights organization Jagori, Pakistani lawyer and women's rights activist Dr. Asma Jahangir, and the Afghan Women's Network. In addition, the Jewish Museum Berlin is receiving the first Roland Berger Honorary Human Dignity Award. Germany's Federal Minister of Finance Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble will give a speech in honor of the Museum.

Munich/Berlin, April 16, 2013: President of the German Bundestag, Dr. Norbert Lammert, opened the fifth ceremony for the Roland Berger Human Dignity Award with a speech on human dignity and human rights. His speech was followed by a panel discussion on women's rights in a globalized world. The high-caliber panel included Christine Lüders, Director of the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency, and Tom Koenigs, the Chairman of the Bundestag Committee on Human Rights and Humanitarian Aid.

Message from Mr. Mazen Darwish

His Excellency President of the Federal Republic of Germany; dear Roland Berger, the founder of the Foundation; ladies and gentlemen: The fact that I cannot be with you today is an indicator of the fact that despotism does not deprive us only of our freedom, but also of any possibility of joy or happiness.

The Award 2010

400 guests from the worlds of politics, business, culture and media were present at the 2010 Roland Berger Human Dignity Award on April 26. For the third time, the Award was presented at a gala ceremony at Berlin's Konzerthaus on Gendarmenmarkt.

Hesse’s Minister President Roland Koch accepted the Award from the hands of former Federal President Horst Köhler and said a few words on behalf of Award winner Helmut Kohl, who could not personally be present due to health reasons.

The Award 2009

For the second time the Roland Berger Foundation hosted the Roland Berger Human Dignity Award at Berlin's Konzerthaus on Gendarmenmarkt on April 21, 2009.

Federal President Horst Köhler presented one of the two award medals made by Jonathan Meese to Jean-François Julliard, General Secretary of Reporters Without Borders.

The Award 2008

On November 24 2008, the Roland Berger Foundation presented the first Roland Berger Human Dignity Award under the patronage of the Federal President.

“We are acknowledging a woman whose story both disturbs and inspires us; a woman who through her uncompromising mission to defend human dignity serves as an example for us all,” said former Federal President Horst Köhler, who presented the Award to Somaly Mam.

The Award

Der Roland Berger Preis für Menschenwürde ist ein mit bis zu einer Million Euro dotierter internationaler Menschenrechtspreis, der jährlich in Berlin verliehen wird. Seit 2008 zeichnet die Roland Berger Stiftung damit Personen und Organisationen aus, die sich auf besondere Weise für den weltweiten Schutz der Menschenwürde einsetzen. Die bisherigen Preisträger sind: die kambodschanische Menschenrechtskämpferin Somaly Mam (2008), die iranische Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Dr. Shirin Ebadi (2009), die internationale Organisation Reporter ohne Grenzen (2009), der deutsche Bundeskanzler a.D. Dr. Helmut Kohl (2010), die ägyptische Menschenrechtsorganisation Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (2011), die tunesische Anwältin Radhia Nasraoui (2011), der syrische Journalist Mazen Darwish (2011), die indische NGO "Jagori" (2012/13), die pakistanische Menschenrechtsanwältin Dr. Asma Jahangir (2012/13), das "Afghan Women's Network" (2012/13) und das Jüdische Museum Berlin (Ehrenpreis 2012/13). Der Preisträger wird vom internationalen Preisvergabekomitee der Roland Berger Stiftung bestimmt, dem neben dem Stifter Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Dr. h.c. Joschka Fischer, Dr. Maria Furtwängler, Prof. Dr. Romano Prodi und Prof. Dr. Muhammed Yunus angehören.

The Roland Berger Human Dignity Award is endowed with up to EUR 1 million and conferred annually in Berlin. Since 2008, Roland Berger Foundation has honored individuals and organizations that have shown outstanding commitment to promoting human dignity. Previous award winners are: the Cambodian human rights activist Somaly Mam (2008), the Iranian Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Dr. Shirin Ebadi (2009), the international organization Reporters Without Borders (2009), former Federal Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl (2010), the Egyptian human rights organization Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (2011), Tunisian lawyer Radhia Nasraoui (2011), Syrian journalist Mazen Darwish (2011), Indian NGO Jagori (2012/13), human rights activist and lawyer Dr. Asma Jahangir of Pakistan (2012/13), the Afghan Women's Network (2012/13) and the Jewish Museum Berlin (Honorary Award 2012/13). The award winner is chosen by the Foundation’s Award Committee, the members of which are the Founder himself, Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Dr. h.c. Joschka Fischer, Dr. Maria Furtwängler-Burda, Prof. Romano Prodi and Prof. Muhammad Yunus.