Bahey el din Hassan – The founder of the Egyptian human rights movement

63-year-old Bahey el din Hassan is the co-founder and Director of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS). He is one of Egypt's leading human rights activists and helped found the Egyptian human rights movement in the 1980s.

Hassan fought against the human rights abuses by the Mubarak regime for more than 20 years. He also lectures and writes on human rights and democratic transformation in the Arab region.

Tawakkol Karman – The face of the Yemeni revolution

A strong promoter of human rights and freedom of the press since 2005 in a country dominated by an oppressive and corrupt regime, Tawakkol Karman participated in organizing the protests in the early months of 2011 and became a leading voice during the uprisings. Karman is a liberal Islamist who has faced harassment and death threats, and made the sacrifice to separate from her family, including her three children, in order to fight for women's rights and press freedom. Karman was awarded the 2011 Nobel Peace Price.

Sihem Bensedrine – Tunisia’s advocate for press freedom

61-year-old Sihem Bensedrine is a journalist known as a tireless and courageous activist for freedom of the press and human rights in Tunisia. She is the co-founder and spokesperson of the National Council for Liberties in Tunisia (CNLT) and co-founder of the online magazine Kalima and Radio Kalima, reporting on human rights abuses in Tunisia.

In her 20-plus years fighting for human rights, she has faced harassment and torture, and had to leave the country several times to live in exile. But all the danger she has put herself and her family into has not stopped her from speaking out against the former regimes and fighting for the idea that every Tunisian should live in dignity.

Lina Ben Mhenni – The blogger of the Jasmine revolution

28-year-old Lina Ben Mhenni is a cyberactivist and teaching assistant in Linguistics at the University of Tunis. With her blog "A Tunisian Girl", she became one of the most prominent and courageous bloggers in the Arab world.

Her strong criticism of the regime's repressions and the posting of photos and video footage showing the brutality of security forces during the uprisings made her the "voice of the Jasmine Revolution".

Dr. Aida Seif El Dawla – Egyptian activist against torture and violence

57-year-old Dr. Seif El Dawla is Professor of Psychiatry at Ain Shams University. For over three decades, she has been fighting for women's rights and against torture and violence in Egypt.

Her biggest accomplishment to date is founding the El Nadim Center for the Psychological Rehabilitation of Victims of Violence. The organization provides support to all victims of torture and violence. It also enables her and her team of women volunteers to raise awareness of the crimes and to bring those responsible to justice.

The Award 2010

400 guests from the worlds of politics, business, culture and media were present at the 2010 Roland Berger Human Dignity Award on April 26. For the third time, the Award was presented at a gala ceremony at Berlin's Konzerthaus on Gendarmenmarkt.

Hesse’s Minister President Roland Koch accepted the Award from the hands of former Federal President Horst Köhler and said a few words on behalf of Award winner Helmut Kohl, who could not personally be present due to health reasons.

The Award 2009

For the second time the Roland Berger Foundation hosted the Roland Berger Human Dignity Award at Berlin's Konzerthaus on Gendarmenmarkt on April 21, 2009.

Federal President Horst Köhler presented one of the two award medals made by Jonathan Meese to Jean-François Julliard, General Secretary of Reporters Without Borders.

The Award 2008

On November 24 2008, the Roland Berger Foundation presented the first Roland Berger Human Dignity Award under the patronage of the Federal President.

“We are acknowledging a woman whose story both disturbs and inspires us; a woman who through her uncompromising mission to defend human dignity serves as an example for us all,” said former Federal President Horst Köhler, who presented the Award to Somaly Mam.

The Award

Der Roland Berger Preis für Menschenwürde ist ein internationaler Menschenrechtspreis, der regelmäßig in Berlin verliehen wird. Seit 2008 zeichnet die Roland Berger Stiftung damit Personen und Organisationen aus, die sich auf besondere Weise für den weltweiten Schutz der Menschenwürde einsetzen. Die bisherigen Preisträger sind: die kambodschanische Menschenrechtskämpferin Somaly Mam (2008), die iranische Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Dr. Shirin Ebadi (2009), die internationale Organisation Reporter ohne Grenzen (2009), der deutsche Bundeskanzler a.D. Dr. Helmut Kohl (2010), die ägyptische Menschenrechtsorganisation Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (2011), die tunesische Anwältin Radhia Nasraoui (2011), der syrische Journalist Mazen Darwish (2011), die indische NGO "Jagori" (2012/13), die pakistanische Menschenrechtsanwältin Dr. Asma Jahangir (2012/13), das "Afghan Women's Network" (2012/13), das Jüdische Museum Berlin (Ehrenpreis 2012/13), die maltesische Anwältin und Direktorin des Jesuiten-Flüchtlingsdienstes in Malta Dr. Katrine Camilleri (2014/15), die eritreisch-italienische Menschenrechtlerin Dr. Alganesc Fessaha (2014/15) und die kongolesische Schulorganisation "Petite Flamme (2014/15)". Der Preisträger wird vom internationalen Preisvergabekomitee der Roland Berger Stiftung bestimmt, dem neben dem Stifter The Honourable Louise Arbour, Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Dr. h.c. Joschka Fischer, Dr. Maria Furtwängler, Prof. Dr. Romano Prodi und Prof. Dr. Muhammed Yunus angehören.

The Roland Berger Human Dignity Award is regularly conferred in Berlin. Since 2008, the Roland Berger Foundation has honored individuals and organizations that have shown outstanding commitment to promoting human dignity. Previous award winners are: Cambodian human rights activist Somaly Mam (2008), Iranian Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Dr. Shirin Ebadi (2009), the international organization Reporters Without Borders (2009), former Federal Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl (2010), the Egyptian human rights organization Arabic Network for Human Rights Information (2011), Tunisian lawyer Radhia Nasraoui (2011), Syrian journalist Mazen Darwish (2011), Indian NGO Jagori (2012/13), human rights activist and lawyer Dr. Asma Jahangir of Pakistan (2012/13), the Afghan Women's Network (2012/13), the Jewish Museum Berlin (Honorary Award 2012/13), Maltese lawyer Dr. Katrine Camilleri (2014/15), Eritrean-Italian human rights activist Dr. Alganesc Fessaha (2014/15) and the Congolese school organization Petite Flamme (2014/15). The award winner is chosen by the Foundation’s Award Committee, the members of which are the Founder himself, The Honourable Louise Arbour, Dr. Shirin Ebadi, Dr. h.c. Joschka Fischer, Dr. Maria Furtwängler-Burda, Prof. Romano Prodi and Prof. Muhammad Yunus.